On July 16th, 2023, District 7255 gathered at Terrace on the Park for our annual award ceremony and to celebrate PDG Sonia Saleh and all the District has accomplished this past Rotary year! This year the District awarded 19 Rotarians and four Rotary Clubs for their outstanding achievements in marketing, community engagement, service, leadership, and membership. 

Congratulations to all our 2022-2023 Award Winners!


District Awards 2022-2023


Communications and Marketing Award

Jennifer Marie Cunningham of Patchogue Rotary (Left- accepted by Club President Larry Boncimino)

Freeport-Merrick Rotary Club (Right- accepted by Club Co-President DeRosette Harrison)

A successful Rotary Club needs an effective communications channel to connect with the community.  This award recognizes a club, individual or committee for outstanding communications and marketing of club news and projects to members, supporters, and the public.  This includes the use of any and all media channels.

Community Engagement Award

Queensborough West Rotary Club

This award will be given to clubs who exemplified the values of a Rotarian and went above and beyond this past year to make a difference in their community. Service, fundraising, and supporting local businesses are just part of the hard work our clubs do to make a difference within their community. A club who receives the community engagement award must provide details on the projects they held within their community and why their work made a difference. 

New Rotarian of the Year Award

Sofia Jean of Sayville Rotary (Left)

Vincenzo Pace of JFK Airport Rotary (Center- accepted by Club President Nancy Vargas)

Michael Yurieff of Rocky Point Rotary (Right)

Our new members bring ideas, excitement, and a passion to our Rotary Clubs.  These individuals sometimes go all in, getting involved in leadership positions, committee roles, and coordinating projects within their first year.  This award goes to a Rotarian who has joined within the last two Rotary years and has made a significant difference within their club and/or region/district.  These nominees must be an active member within a club in District 7255, showcase strong involvement at their club level in Rotary and community, and have been inducted into their Rotary club in the Rotary years 2021-2022 or 2022-2023.

President of the Year Award

Stella Piscano of Queensborough West Rotary (Far Left)

Nancy Vargas of JFK Airport Rotary (Left Center)

Beth Kramer of Floral Park-Bellerose Rotary (Left Right)

DeRosette Harrison & Emily Marguilis of Freeport-Merrick Rotary (Right Left)

Lerry Boncimino of Patchogue Rotary (Center Right)

Drew Baldwin of Sayville Rotary (Far Right)

Being president of a club can be one of the hardest but most rewarding volunteer positions a person might have. This award is to recognize an individual who goes above and beyond in the club and community to lead by example. Presidents have been known to light the fire that gets a club from struggling to becoming an overachieving community partner. This award goes to two individuals, one who was president of a club for more than 25 Rotarians and one for under 25 Rotarians. These nominees must be an active member within a club in District 7255, registered as the current club president within Rotary Central, and showcase strong involvement at their club and community level.

Membership Awards

Retention Award: Freeport-Merrick Rotary Club (Left- accepted by Club Co-President DeRosette Harrison)

Growth Award: Queensborough West Rotary Club (Right- accepted by President Mario Dalman)

Rotaray International Recognizes these clubs for their achievements in membership during the 2022-23 Rotary year for having the highest membership retention rate and having the highest growth rate of membership through District 7255. 

Rotarian of the Year Award

Alexandra Camp of  East Northport Rotary (Left)

Althea Robinson of Mineola-Garden City Rotary (Center)

Taylor Quaranta of D7255 Passport Rotary (Right)

This award will go to individuals who embody the values of a Rotarian in not only their club but also within their career and/or community during the 2022-2023 Rotary year. Hard work, a passion for growing Rotary, their leadership involvement within Rotary, and support for the foundation are just a few ideals these individuals showcase. These nominees must be an active member within a club in District 7255. 

Rotary Hall of Fame Award

Arnold Quaranta of Ronkonkoma Rotary (Left)

Barbara Ackerman of Southold Rotary (Left Center)

Don Hester of Sayville Rotary (Right Center)

Florence Marc-Charles of Freeport-Merrick Rotary (Right)

Bruce Siska of East Hampton Rotary (Not Pictured)

Richard Fink of East Northpoer Rotary (Not Pictured)

This award is an honor for no more than 5 Rotarians this year. As part of the Rotary Hall of Fame, each recipient must be an active Rotarian within their club/ district, held at least one leadership position within their club and represent the values of a Rotarian.